top of page

Review for "Me Before You"


I give this one 4/5 pairs of bumble bee leggings.

Alright, so I know it seems as if everyone on the book blogosphere has read and reviewed this book so I thought I'd add my two cents. I really liked this book on it's own. I feel like the hype that surrounded it kind of took away from the emotional punch of the ending for me though. The ending was sad but I didn't weep or scream or anything really except acknowledge that it was a wonderfully written piece of literature. Please don't through tomatoes yet!

I really did enjoy Lou and Will's story! The whole theme of the book was something that I haven't really read much of lately and it was truly refreshing to connect with characters that have gone through so much and yet are still able to pull themselves together and decided what is best for themselves without entirely relying on the thoughts and feelings of others. I feel this way because I truly believe that you should always do what's best for you in the end because you have to live with yourself forever.

As I mentioned I was hesitant to pick this read up simply because of the hype surrounding it. I normally steer clear of over hyped books because they tend to let me down. The ending of this book wasn't as devastating to me because I had an inkling of what to expect so in that regard that stunk, but the story itself over all was so wonderfully written and engaging and I really enjoyed it as a whole. I did recently see that there is a sequel to this one, so maybe there will be a companion review later? We'll see!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Synopsis~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick. What Lou doesn't know is she's about to lose her job or that knowing what's coming is what keeps her sane. Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he's going to put a stop to that. What Will doesn't know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they're going to change the other for all time.

bottom of page