top of page

Review of "Harry Potter and The Cursed Child" by J.K. Rowling


5/5 lightning bolt scars.

I was hesitant to pick up this latest installment of the Harry Potter series being the huge fan that I am. I knew that I would read it in one sitting and naturally that did happen. I saw a few reviews at first that were iffy about the book, but after reading it myself I can say that it did not disappoint.

I loved this next chapter in the story. Understanding that it isn't all about Harry and is a wholly different format of reading/writing made it easier for me to go in with no expectations and enjoy it. Without giving any spoilers (I think? Haha!) learning more about Albus, Rose, and Scorpius was a treat to me. I don't think this story set out to answer a bunch of questions about how Harry’s children were brought up, or to bring in a huge new threat to the wizarding world. Could there be more added later? Absolutely! But this book didn't seem to be about that. The adventure presented for Harry’s son Albus Severus Potter was a grand adventure! It back stepped a bit from how young Harry was when his grand adventures began, but this story also gave some tidbits about what happened after the Great War and some insight into everyone's mindset after that fact.

As a continuation of the series, there could have been more. As a story on its own, it was a good one! I look forward to more things coming from the wizarding world in the future because I know it to be true that it will never truly go away or end as long as we believe in it.

~~~~~~~~~~Synopsis~~~~~~~~~~

Nineteen years after the Battle of Hogwarts…

It was always difficult being Harry Potter, and it isn't much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and a father of three school-aged children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: Sometimes darkness comes from unexpected places.

Based on the original new story by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is a new play by Jack Thorne. It is the eighth Harry Potter story and the first to be officially presented on stage. The special rehearsal edition of the script brings the continued journey of Harry Potter and his friends and family to readers everywhere immediately following the play’s world premier in London’s West End on July 31, 2016.


bottom of page