top of page

Review of "It Started With Goodbye" by Christina June

Rating: 4/5 perfect valedictions.

Ok so first things first, I liked this book! Tatum is such a relatable character and the messages and theme of this book is so good for teens and other YA readers alike in my opinion. I have been straying from contemporary books as of late but I had this one recommended to me and I’m glad I picked it up. Tatum’s story of being in the wrong place at the wrong time and having to face the consequences of that while still holding strong to the fact that she did nothing wrong even in the face of so much blame from everyone around her is a good quality in a main character. Add in her desire to find and pursue something she loves in the shape of starting her own graphic design company as a teenager when she felt alienated in her own family just made me want to join Abby and give her a big hug.

I also related to this book on a personal level because I too had a time when I was younger when I was so focused on myself that I misunderstood things that others said or did and felt like a victim and I want to think that we all go through that at some point and in some capacity but then something just clicks and you realize you had it wrong all along and things are not that bad after all. I feel like that’s a great thing to have represented in a book that is aimed for the reading genre full of people who may be going through that part of growing up.

Also, I found that all the characters were interesting enough in their own ways that there is easy more story to tell with each of them. That kind of dynamic always gets my mind going even after finishing a book trying to figure out their stories as well. I would certainly recommend this book to anyone looking for a lightweight story about morals and cheeky characters with a sense of humor as well as purpose. I only hope to be as steadfast and driven as these characters when I grow up. ;) In the meantime, I’ll be patiently awaiting the companion book to this one: “Everywhere You Want to Be” due out in 2018.

I was fortunate to receive this ARC copy in exchange for an honest review by NetGalley. Look for it May 9, 2017.

~~~~~~~~~~~Synopsis~~~~~~~~~~

Sixteen-year-old Tatum Elsea is bracing for the worst summer of her life. After being falsely accused of a crime, she's stuck under stepmother-imposed house arrest and her BFF's gone ghost. Tatum fills her newfound free time with community service by day and working at her covert graphic design business at night (which includes trading emails with a cute cello-playing client).

When Tatum discovers she's not the only one in the house keeping secrets, she finds she has the chance to make amends with her family and friends. Equipped with a new perspective, and assisted by her feisty step-abuela/fairy-godmother, Tatum is ready to start fresh and maybe even get her happy ending along the way.

A modern play on the Cinderella story arc, IT STARTED WITH GOODBYE shows us that sometimes going after what you want means breaking the rules.

IT STARTED WITH GOODBYE will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins, and Jennifer E. Smith.

~~~~~~~~~~Book Information~~~~~~~~~

Published on 05/09/2017 by Blink/Harper Collins.

Page Count: 304

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance, Realistic Fiction.

To purchase visit:

~~~~~~~~~~About the Author~~~~~~~~~~

Taken for GoodReads.com: “Christina June writes young adult contemporary fiction when she’s not writing college recommendation letters during her day job as a school counselor. She loves the little moments in life that help someone discover who they’re meant to become – whether it’s her students or her characters. Christina is a voracious reader, loves to travel, eats too many cupcakes, and hopes to one day be bicoastal – the east coast of the US and the east coast of Scotland. She lives just outside Washington DC with her husband and daughter.”

To learn more about the author check out her website by clicking her image above.


bottom of page