top of page

N.E.W.T.S Readathon 2018

Hello again!

So I’m sure I’m not the only person who was slightly started by how fast the year is going by and had been slacking on their personal reading goals for the year so when I came across the Magical Readathon N.E.W.T.S. reading challenge for August I jumped at the chance to get back into the guardrails of my reading goal for the year and make my TBR get away from the one hundred book mark. I decided that even though I did not sit my O.W.L.S. in the spring, that I would try and read enough books to cover all of the challenges for the N.E.W.T.S. and somehow, I managed to do it! These are the books that I read and the challenges that each met as per the guide that I was using:

Ancient Ruins

  • Book Set In The Past

  • The Bhagavad-Gita

  • Most Ancient Book on Shelf

  • The Bhagavad-Gita

  • Translated From Another Language

  • The Bhagavad-Gita

Divination

  • Set In The Future

  • New World Rising

  • Under 200 Pages

  • The Bhagavad-Gita

  • Mythology

  • Deadweather and Sunrise

Arithmancy

  • At Least 300 Pages

  • Wicked

  • Ends On An Even # Page

  • Wicked

  • Not The First Of A Series

  • Forward

Herbology

  • Green Cover

  • New World Rising

  • Has Illustrations

  • Wicked

  • Title w/Light, Air, Sun, or Water

  • Deadweather and Sunrise

Astronomy

  • Stars On The Cover

  • Magical Misfits

  • The World “Sky” In The Title

  • Aurora Sky:

  • Set On A Different Planet/World

  • Wicked

History of Magic

  • Would Fit In A Hogwarts Library

  • Magical Misfits

  • Published At Lease 5 Years Ago

  • Confessions of a Murder Suspect

  • At Lease 400 Pages Long

  • Confessions of a Murder Suspect

Care of Magical Creatures

  • Has An Animal On The Cover

  • Wicked

  • Book Less Than 160 Pages

  • The Bhagavad-Gita

  • Includes Dragons In Some Way

  • Wicked

Muggle Studies

  • Book From Fave Author

  • Confessions of a Murder Suspect

  • Biography

  • Forward

  • Retelling

  • Wicked

Charms

  • Has Magic In It

  • Magical Misfits

  • A Cover That Charmed You

  • Magical Misfits

  • You Think It Will Leave A Mark

  • The Bhagavad-Gita

Potions

  • Name of Color In Title

  • The Virgin Blue

  • Male Lead Character

  • Magical Misfits

  • Over 350 Pages Long

  • Revenge Wears Prada

Defense Against The Dark Arts

  • Last In A Series

  • Revenge Wears Prada

  • Foiled Book

  • Magical Misfits

  • Has “Dark” In The Title

  • The Darkest Corners

Transfiguration

  • Grey Cover

  • Forward

  • New To You Author

  • New World Rising

  • Set In Kingdom/Has Royals

  • Wicked

*The editions I read are shown in the slideshow below*

The Bhagavad-Gita Translated by Barbara Stoler Miller

Revenge Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger

Confessions of a Murder Suspect by James Patterson

Wicked by Gregory Maguire

New World Rising by Jennifer Wilson

Forward by Abby Wambach

Magical Misfits by Neil Patrick Harris

Aurora Sky: Vampire Hunter by Nikki Jefford

The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

Deadweather and Sunrise by Geoff Rodkey

The Virigin Blue by Tracy Chevalier

By reading these books I was able to meet all three possible challenges for each course and pass them all! Naturally a Harry Potter themed challenge already had my attention but the amount of planning and searching I had to do to get the right books to make this doable was such a blast. I plan to try a few more challenges this year to knock down my TBR even more before all of the new releases for 2019 start to pop up.

How are you guys doing on your reading goals? Did you also sit your N.E.W.T.S.? How did you do?

Always,

Britney


bottom of page